World Anti-Doping Program

To promote a level international playing field, the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) initiated a World Anti-Doping Program in 2000. The program is structured in three levels:

  • Level 1: The World Anti-Doping Code - ensures global harmonization of anti-doping efforts by providing consistent policies, rules and regulations across all sport organizations and national authorities;
  • Level 2: International Standards - mandatory operational standards, such as the Prohibited List and the standards for education, testing and laboratory accreditation;
  • Level 3: Models of Best Practice - voluntary practices, providing benchmark solutions for many aspects of anti-doping.

Acceptance and implementation of the World Anti-Doping Program is a requirement for sports and countries to participate in the Olympic and Paralympic Games, world championships and other major games.

The Canadian Anti-Doping Program is Code-compliant. In light of Canadians’ long-standing interest in harmonized and effective anti-doping programs worldwide, the CCES believes that compliance with the World Code is not only an obligation, but a privilege. A key part of that privilege is to make recommendations and provide feedback during the Code revision process. The next Code revision is scheduled to begin in 2018, and at that time, the CCES will take the opportunity to provide comment on issues, such as the use of inclusive language in the Code.

See Also...

WADA Prohibited List

Maintained by the World Anti-Doping Agency

World Anti-Doping Code

Maintained by the World Anti-Doping Agency